Good For You Brownies

Aren’t all brownies really good for you?! I’m one of those people who believe that chocolate is a health food dark chocolate is a health food and I eat it quite often.  I devour things like ganache, anything topped with ganache, dark chocolate truffles…etc You get the idea. I LOVE chocolate.

I grew up eating things like éclair and sablés (yes, I had a very tough life) not brownies, though.So I have a lot of catching up to do here on all those years!

Yesterday I was in the mood for brownies and what better recipe to turn to then my favorite! I didn’t want to go all out though, and eat white sugar and flour, (cause I know what happens on weekends) and it was only Friday! I also know I’m not the type of person who will eat one piece of brownie. So like any wise cave woman would do, I eliminated the white sugar and flour and used almond flour and honey as a substitute.

Gluten Free yummy brownies inspired by David Lebovitz

Here’s what I gathered to make the brownies:

  • 6-8 oz dark chocolate
  • 6 Tblspns butter, I used salted
  • 1/4 honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c coconut flakes
  • 7 small dates, which was about 1/3 cup (not packed)
  • 1/3  cup fine Almond flour
  • 1/4 tspn sea salt
  • 1 tspn Vanilla extract
  • 1 Tblspn cacao nibs (optional)

Directions:

  1.  Preheat your oven at 350˚. Chop the chocolate bars into small pieces.
  2. Line an 8×8 inch baking pan with parchment paper and butter it.
  3. Soak the dates in hot water for 10 minutes, then put them in a food processor until they’re mashed.
  4. Melt the butter and chocolate in a medium sized sauce pan, stirring with the whisk until all melted and mixed thoroughly
  5. Take the sauce pan off the heat, then add the honey and the vanilla extract.
  6. Whisk the eggs in the mixture, one a time, then add the coconut flakes, chopped dates, and the salt. The mixture looked like this:

7. Now here’s the fun and most important part according to my favorite recipe recipe: add the almond flour then whisk everything together for 1 full minute, time yourself. Apparently this step makes the brownies nice and moist.

8.Pour the batter into the prepared pan and make sure you smooth the top, then sprinkle the top with cacao nibs (they add a really nice crunch. )

9. Bake for 20-30 minutes. I baked them for 20 minutes and they were just right. I let them cool on a rack and cut them with a big serrated knife.

The brownies were REALLY good. I will definitely make them again (may be tomorrow.) They passed 3 taste testers, one of whom has a VERY sweet tooth a.k.a the hub:) One taste tester even described it as fudge! Go make them!

One thought on “Good For You Brownies

Leave a Reply

