Curried Chicken Salad with Cashews

Before I turn in for the night, I’d like to share this yummy recipe that I made for lunch today. This, as usual, was quick and easy. When it comes to chicken salad, the sky is your limit! I love my mother in-law’s recipe with fresh tarragon and mayonnaise. But today I wanted to play with whatever I had in my fridge and it turned out pretty well.  Here’s what I had today:

WARNING: I’ve never made this recipe before.

Ingredients

  • I chicken breast, baked or poached
  • 1-2 Tblspns chopped green onions
  • 1 Tblspn fresh cilantro
  • 3/4 tspn Madrass curry powder, or any curry powder you prefer
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1-2 Tblspn Olive oil
  • 1 Tblspn Almond butter, you can use cashew butter (will try it next time!)
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1/2-1 tspn Dijon Mustard
  • 1/4 apple, chopped into tiny pieces
  • 1-2 Tblspns golden raisins
  • 3-4 Tblspns toasted cashews, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1- Chop, grate, slice, and dice whatever you need to make the salad!

2- Make the dressing for the salad by combining the Olive oil, spices, almond butter, dijon mustard, and lemon juice into a small mixing bowl. You should have a smooth and creamy consistency.

                   

3- Add the chicken, veggies, chopped apples, raisins and 1/2 of the cashews to the bowl and mix until well incorporated. Adjust the seasoning. At this point you can add more curry powder, red pepper flakes, or even tarragon if you like (go crazy and let me know how it turns out!)

4- Serve on some lettuce leaves, a bed of greens, or make a wrap. Top with some chopped cashews and more raisins if you wish. Plate it, make it look nice, and send me a picture:)

5- Bil Hana (Bon Appetit in Arabic, literally with happiness/joy.)

For dinner…well I’m too tired to write what I had for dinner. I had dinner late today after finishing up my workout at the gym and hitting a certain milestone. Yaaaaay!
But here’s a picture of my dinner plate.

Bonne nuit mes amis:)

2 thoughts on “Curried Chicken Salad with Cashews

Leave a Reply

